PDA

View Full Version : Surgeon left 16 items in man's body

oceanloverOH
01-16-2013, 04:27 PM
This is sooooo scary. I just can't imagine. I'm not very good at posting links to stories, I apologize. But this was too interesting not to share.

http://www.isciencetimes.com/articles/4389/20130116/surgeon-left-16-items-body-dick-schroeder.htm

Dirk Schroeder's family is suing a German hospital after a surgeon left 16 items in his body during a procedure.
According to Ninemsn, the 74-year-old man underwent a routine surgery in 2009 to help treat his prostate cancer. Schroeder's pain persisted, and three months later, a nurse noticed a gauze pad coming out of one of the man's wounds.....

.....Schroeder died last year of cancer, and his family is now suing the unidentified hospital for $121,000. The hospital, meanwhile, is arguing that the 16 items in question actually entered the man's body after the surgery.

(Like how did those items get in the prostate area, including a needle?)

Adelaide
01-16-2013, 06:08 PM
This is sooooo scary. I just can't imagine. I'm not very good at posting links to stories, I apologize. But this was too interesting not to share.

http://www.isciencetimes.com/articles/4389/20130116/surgeon-left-16-items-body-dick-schroeder.htm

Dirk Schroeder's family is suing a German hospital after a surgeon left 16 items in his body during a procedure.
According to Ninemsn, the 74-year-old man underwent a routine surgery in 2009 to help treat his prostate cancer. Schroeder's pain persisted, and three months later, a nurse noticed a gauze pad coming out of one of the man's wounds.....

.....Schroeder died last year of cancer, and his family is now suing the unidentified hospital for $121,000. The hospital, meanwhile, is arguing that the 16 items in question actually entered the man's body after the surgery.