PDA

View Full Version : Romney: Stuck in the Fifties

Mister D
12-01-2011, 01:58 PM
Don't let the title decieve you. It's a fairly sympathetic look at Romney.

As it happens, I know something about Romney’s youth, since he was three years behind me at the private boys’ school I attended in Bloomfield Hills, Mich. I still have trouble shaking my image of him as a 14-year-old boy, which he was when I graduated. Romney was popular in school in part because his father was the Republican candidate for governor that year and would be the first Republican to hold that office in 14 years. This was a school where the straw vote in the 1960 presidential election was Richard Nixon 92 percent, John Kennedy 8 percent.

http://www.nationalreview.com/articles/284499/romney-stuck-fifties-michael-barone?pg=1

Conley
12-01-2011, 02:07 PM
I can see how the NR would consider being stuck in the 50s a positive. :wink:

That was a good read. It sounds a little like Romney is being questioned for being different things to different people but I think anyone running for office at that level will have some of that. It comes with the terrain. Overall though it does paint a positive portrait of the man.

Mister D
12-01-2011, 02:26 PM
I can see how the NR would consider being stuck in the 50s a positive. :wink:

That was a good read. It sounds a little like Romney is being questioned for being different things to different people but I think anyone running for office at that level will have some of that. It comes with the terrain. Overall though it does paint a positive portrait of the man.

Yeah, I thought it was pretty positive. Oddly endearing, actually.

Conley
12-01-2011, 02:34 PM
Yeah, I thought it was pretty positive. Oddly endearing, actually.

Yes, I find myself viewing him favorably. He sounds like a hard worker, although I suppose he did have a lot of family connections and money as well (which shouldn't be held against him of course).

Mister D
12-01-2011, 02:38 PM