PDA

View Full Version : Red Ink Flowing; Sgt Bergdahl etc

Bob
06-07-2014, 03:56 PM
http://www.teapartynation.com/profiles/blog/show?id=3355873%3ABlogPost%3A2860760&xgs=1&xg_source=msg_share_post

“With Honor and Distinction”.
This phrase did at one time elicit strong emotions of pride within me. At this moment, it feels like the term has been badly soiled. This phrase was, at least in my mind, reserved for those who have served this nation. Although most often applied to members of the military; not exclusively so.
And I always felt that sense of pride because as a disabled veteran I felt a kinship with those who had earned the accolade. One of my bosses in years past and a long time friend wears a small blue ribbon with thirteen white stars on it. He served with honor and distinction. The medal on his chest only acknowledges that fact; his actions defined the truth of it.
Those of us who served honorably were rewarded with an “Honorable Discharge” and for most of us that simple government form stating that we had served honorably was the only reward we asked for. It is what we strived for. It is what we and our families sacrificed so much for. There was no greater goal for us than to proclaim that we had served our country honorably.
With distinction?
That designation was never sought but was bestowed on those who served by the strength of their character framed in unique circumstances as is the case with my friend with that small blue ribbon.
The so called “prisoner swap” of five top level Taliban terrorist for Sergeant Berdahl has been very upsetting from the moment it was announced as I have said in previous posts. The overwhelming evidence provided by his fellow team members has raised serious questions as to the character of that person.