PDA

View Full Version : Final 2014 Election Predictions

IMPress Polly
11-01-2014, 08:04 AM
I pride myself on the accuracy of my election predictions, which I've been doing since 2006. Thus far I've maintained a pretty good record for accuracy and aim to continue that this year. What follows is my *official* prediction of the outcome of the 2014 U.S. elections on November 4th (i.e. Tuesday). I have sought to get as specific as humanly possible.

THE SENATE:

Current Scenario:

53 Democrats
45 Republicans
2 Independents who caucus with Democrats

(EFFECTIVELY: 55 Democrats, 45 Republicans)

36 seats are up for election. Of those 36 seats, 21 are held by Democrats and 15 by Republicans. Republicans thus have a mathematical advantage.

My Prediction:

Democrats will (in effect*) gain no new Senate seats this year. Republicans will gain eight: more than enough to retake overall control of the Senate. The new seats the Republicans will gain are:

1. West Virginia
2. Iowa
3. Arkansas
4. Louisiana
5. South Dakota
6. Colorado
7. Montana
8. Alaska

*The incumbent Republican in Kansas will lose to independent Greg Orman. However, Orman -- a Wall Street centrist who opposes the Affordable Care Act (but also opposes repealing it), supports budget austerity, gun control, abortion rights, immigration reform, nominally environmentalist positions, and campaign finance reform (including the repeal of Citizens United) -- has pledged to caucus with whichever party wins control of the Senate. That will clearly be the Republican Party. Thus I don't count this as a potential pick-up for the Democrats.

FINAL BALANCE:

Republicans: 52
Democrats: 45
Independents: 3 <-- Two caucus with Democrats, but the new third will caucus with Republicans.

EFFECTIVELY:

Republicans: 53 <-- Winners

THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES:

Current Scenario:

Republicans: 234
Democrats: 199
Vacant Seats: 2

My Prediction:

Republicans will see a net gain of 9 House seats.

FINAL BALANCE: