PDA

View Full Version : The DANGEROUS Misperception of the American Military

protectionist
01-05-2015, 03:34 PM
In this OP, I'm doing something I've never done before. I'm linking to an article that I have not read. I don't have to. And you don't either. Just the subtitle is enough for me to make my commentary

Since I don't have 2 days to read this very lengthy article, I will simply speak to part of the subtitle which reads > "strategic folly combine to lure America into endless wars it can’t win" By this, is the author talking about Afghanistan and Iraq ? If so, he is dead WRONG.

There is nothing foolish about the US military fighting in these 2 countries. In Afghanistan, even Obama (as anti-war as he is) is leaving 9800 troops. He knows that the # 1 threat to American national security is the 100+ nuclear missles in Pakistan. With a fragile govt there, and millions of Muslim jihadist lunatics trying to get their hands on those nukes, US troops need to be there to be in close proximity, to be able to quickly seize and secure those nukes, when need be, and move them to a secure location, far away from the Pakistani jihadists.

In Iraq, you have the largest unproven oil reserves in the world + one of the largest proven reserves. This is enormous wealth, which if acquired, could give a rag-tag band of terrorists (ever hear of ISIS ?) a nuclear arsenal.
The presence of a formidable force of US troops in both of these countries, is more important than anywhere they have ever been at any time in American history, including World War II. As far as the mention of "endless", did anyone ever think it was going to be anything other than that ? Why would it, when this jihad has been going on for 1400 years already. And 1000 years from now, historians will ask what was Obama doing by pulling troops out of Afghanistan in 2010 ? Trying to scour up delusional ultra-liberal votes, I guess (while placing the American people in dangerous jeopardy).