PDA

View Full Version : What do our vets think about the US hiring military contractors?

CreepyOldDude
01-21-2015, 03:06 PM
I don't like them. I served for various reasons, none of which was money.

nathanbforrest45
01-21-2015, 03:31 PM
I would think those who want to be mercenaries would be more willing to fight then those who were drafted and didn't want to be in there in the first place.

As a vet I have no opinion on the matter other than the above.

CreepyOldDude
01-21-2015, 03:40 PM
I would think those who want to be mercenaries would be more willing to fight then those who were drafted and didn't want to be in there in the first place.

Well, since we haven't drafted anyone since 1973 or so, I doubt your answer is really germane.

Peter1469
01-21-2015, 03:40 PM
Contractors do a lot of things. Some I would agree with, others I wouldn't. When I was a private we got put on Post Detail all the time. Cut the grass, etc. Contractors do that now.

In a combat zone, contractors have taken over a lot of the logistical stuff, like operating the mess halls. When I was enlisted, soldiers worked and managed the mess halls. A lot of that is caused by the force strength Congresses authorizes. So the Army will say, we are going to contract out these specialized non-combat jobs and use our boots for warfighting work.

CreepyOldDude
01-21-2015, 04:02 PM
Contractors do a lot of things. Some I would agree with, others I wouldn't. When I was a private we got put on Post Detail all the time. Cut the grass, etc. Contractors do that now.

In a combat zone, contractors have taken over a lot of the logistical stuff, like operating the mess halls. When I was enlisted, soldiers worked and managed the mess halls. A lot of that is caused by the force strength Congresses authorizes. So the Army will say, we are going to contract out these specialized non-combat jobs and use our boots for warfighting work.