PDA

View Full Version : Should we cull sharks?

William
08-12-2015, 05:06 PM
Surfers and businesses on the NSW North Coast are calling for sharks to be culled after some shark attacks and sightings. Businesses specially, say people are not holidaying there so much, and they are losing money.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/topic/shark

Do you think it's OK to kill these awesome creatures, just so we can go surfing, and so businesses can make more money?

I don't - if we go into their world, we should accept the danger. I love surfing (though I'm not that good at board surfing) but I don't want to see anything die just cos I want to play in the water.

What do you think?

Common Sense
08-12-2015, 05:09 PM
It wouldn't help.

http://www.seashepherd.org.au/apex-harmony/overview/alternatives.html

PolWatch
08-12-2015, 05:17 PM
I can't agree with any plan to destroy entire species. I wonder if they realize that taking out the top predator of the food chain could have disastrous affects on the oceans. Where do they think the dead sea life will end up? Those beaches they want to make $$$ from will not be very attractive when they are dotted with dead & rotting sea life. I find it hard to believe than some people are so ignorant of the role that sharks play in the health of the oceans, worldwide.

http://www.sharksavers.org/en/education/the-value-of-sharks/sharks-role-in-the-ocean/

@Chloe (http://thepoliticalforums.com/member.php?u=565) - what do you think of this idea?

Chloe
08-12-2015, 05:40 PM
Surfers and businesses on the NSW North Coast are calling for sharks to be culled after some shark attacks and sightings. Businesses specially, say people are not holidaying there so much, and they are losing money.

Do you think it's OK to kill these awesome creatures, just so we can go surfing, and so businesses can make more money?