PDA

View Full Version : Ben Carson Shattering Stereotype About Brain Surgeons Being Smart

Cigar
09-21-2015, 11:28 AM
http://www.newyorker.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/Borowitz-Ben-Carson-290-150-21102306.jpg

Brain surgeons, long burdened with the onerous reputation of being among the smartest people in the world, are expressing relief that the Republican Presidential candidate Ben Carson is shattering that stereotype once and for all. In interviews with brain surgeons across the country, the doctors revealed the enormous pressure they felt to live up to their profession’s inflated renown for intelligence before Carson entered the race. “When people found out I was a brain surgeon they would always assume I was some kind of a genius,” said Harland Dorrinson, a neurosurgeon in Toledo, Ohio. “Now they are beginning to understand that you can know a lot about brain surgery and virtually nothing about anything else.”

Dorrinson said that acquaintances used to view him as a source of wisdom on a wide range of subjects, but added, “Ever since Ben Carson said that prisons make people gay, that’s really fallen off.”

The brain surgeon said that he would probably contribute to Carson’s campaign to keep him in the race: “every time he says something, it helps bring people’s unrealistic expectations about brain surgeons back down to earth.”

http://www.newyorker.com/humor/borowitz-report/ben-carson-shattering-stereotype-about-brain-surgeons-being-smart

:tongue:
(http://www.newyorker.com/humor/borowitz-report/ben-carson-shattering-stereotype-about-brain-surgeons-being-smart)

The Xl
09-21-2015, 11:37 AM
I've always said that overall intelligence can't be quantified by a number or confirmed by an occupation. That said, he carries himself as the smartest guy up there, except maybe Rand Paul. His statement on Muslims may have been politically incorrect or even bigoted, but it doesn't make him a stupid guy.

Cigar
09-21-2015, 11:43 AM