PDA

View Full Version : Medicare to fine hospitals

patrickt
10-01-2012, 07:04 AM
"WASHINGTON (AP) -- If you or an elderly relative have been
hospitalized recently and noticed extra attention when the time came to be
discharged, there's more to it than good customer service. As of Monday, Medicare will start fining hospitals that have too many patients readmitted within 30 days of discharge due to complications."
http://hosted.ap.org/dynamic/stories/U/US_MEDICARE_PENALTIES?SITE=AP&SECTION=HOME&TEMPLATE=DEFAULT&CTIME=2012-09-30-05-02-01

I'm not a doctor or healthcare professional and I've read no more of the Obamacare business than have our congressmen but as I read this I can see two ways for a hospital to guarantee no fines.

Some years ago an elderly friend of mine had a heart valve replacement and had no family in the U.S. I went and stayed with her until she was fully recovered. I met with her surgeons and recovery doctors and she came home relatively soon after surgery. I took her temperature every hour if she was awake over concerns with infection. I ferried her to appointments at the hopspital and doctors' offices. She did not have any complications but one obvious way to avoid the fine, should complications occur, is to simply not release the person from the hospital until the patient is fully recovered. That would, of course, increase costs significantly and could cause a shortage of hospital beds but that's not a problem for the government, is it?

Another solution is to not readmit the patient. If the patient dies there is apparently no penalty. So, the hospital simply denies there is any need to readmit the patient.