User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Dispelling the myths about public education.

Level completed: 77%, Points required for next Level: 398
    Overall activity: 0.1%
    Achievements:
    VeteranTagger Second Class25000 Experience Points
    Reason10's Avatar Banned
    Level
    Thanks Given
    Thanked 4,527x in 2,866 Posts
    Mentioned
    134 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Dispelling the myths about public education.

I work as a substitute teacher in two Florida counties. I've seen the problem up close. Here are the facts: (And interestingly enough, they aren't so much a left versus right deal.)

1. Teacher pay is determined at the COUNTY level. (In Florida.) If anyone tells you otherwise, that person is lying or doesn't know what he/she/it is talking about. Funding-wise, less than 7 percent of education dollars come from Washington, although most of the idiotic politically correct mandates come from faceless bureaucrats in the Beltway who have never stood before a classroom. They create most of the inertia in the system, (which ironically keeps me in a job, so keep it up, $#@!s.)