Thanks Given
    Thanked 2,041x in 1,745 Posts
    Mentioned
    207 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Bidens' situation can not prove Trump's innocence

Quote Originally Posted by Peter1469 View Post
    The problem with this theory is that Joe violated 18 USC 208 when he acted in a matter that directly affected his son. That is not legal, even if unintentional.
    You are generally saying that Biden had a conflict of interest, and that justifies Trump investigating Biden. I would like to see that brought to trial. I doubt it would hold up. (I am not a lawyer)

1) When Joe acted to influence Ukraine to fire the prosecutor, who's will was he carrying out? His own? Was it Joe's decision to withhold aid from Ukraine? No (He couldn't have withheld it even if he wanted. He was bluffing. He was just the mouthpiece of the United States. Joe Biden was not doing anything in the dark of night, behind closed doors like Trump did. He was transparent and had the backing of congress members and the President. At least 4 of the current Senators (some Republicans) sitting as jurors in the Senate trial were apparently co-conspirators as they co-signed a letter urging Ukraine to fire him. If this had been Joe's decision to talk them into changing the prosecutor. That might qualify for conflict of interest. But he didn't act alone. In addition to congressmen, The EU, The IMF, The US, and domestic anti-corruption advocacy groups wanted that prosecutor gone.

2) Furthermore. Unless I am wrong, Burisma was not even under investigation at the time this happened. So how can there be a sufficient connection between Joe's Financial interest and the Prosecutor?

3) Further still, Even if were true that Burisma was under investigation, firing the current prosecutor would not preclude their office from continuing their investigation/prosecution of Burisma under new leadership. So there would be no benefit to Joe by firing their current head prosecutor.