User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: Pics too big to copy and paste!

  1. #1
    Points: 30,767, Level: 42
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 283
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranTagger Second Class25000 Experience Points
    Mini Me's Avatar Senior Member
    Karma
    19058
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Grass Valley, CA
    Posts
    11,151
    Points
    30,767
    Level
    42
    Thanks Given
    158
    Thanked 194x in 161 Posts
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Pics too big to copy and paste!

    They were just pics I had of stuff I wanted to sell; Is it too much data, or are they too big? How do I make them smaller?

    Another thing is; often when I copy and paste an image, it comes with a ton of code gibberish and ruins it!

    I know I am just a DORK when it comes to computers. But this irritates me to no end! Help!

  2. #2
    Points: 133,647, Level: 88
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 2,403
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranTagger First Class50000 Experience Points
    Dr. Who's Avatar Advisor
    Karma
    863196
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Gallifrey
    Posts
    54,460
    Points
    133,647
    Level
    88
    Thanks Given
    5,923
    Thanked 5,458x in 3,759 Posts
    Mentioned
    115 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Strangelove View Post
    They were just pics I had of stuff I wanted to sell; Is it too much data, or are they too big? How do I make them smaller?

    Another thing is; often when I copy and paste an image, it comes with a ton of code gibberish and ruins it!

    I know I am just a DORK when it comes to computers. But this irritates me to no end! Help!
    You need to convert them to jpegs or jpgs. Open them in MS paint and save each of them as a jpeg or jpg extension. They are probably originally in a bmp (bitmap) format, which is huge i.e. when you look at them in your list of pics they are listed as picturename.bmp . You need them to be saved as picturename.jpg or picturename.jpeg .

    You can PM me if you are having trouble.
    "The difference between what we do and what we are capable of doing would suffice to solve most of the world’s problems.”
    Mahatma Gandhi

  3. #3
    Points: 22,631, Level: 36
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 519
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassSocial1 year registered10000 Experience Points
    Lummy's Avatar Senior Member
    Karma
    3853
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    8,973
    Points
    22,631
    Level
    36
    Thanks Given
    2,973
    Thanked 3,853x in 2,814 Posts
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Depending on your graphics program, you should see in one of its drop-down lists a "resize image" option that will have instructions obviating the procedure, no matter what the format.

    Or alternatively, take your computer up to the second floor or higher, open a window, and see if it will fly.
    http://thepoliticalforums.com/threads/120290-Vodafone-denies-5G-coronavirus-connection

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Lummy For This Useful Post:

    jet57 (03-17-2020)

  5. #4
    Points: 22,631, Level: 36
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 519
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassSocial1 year registered10000 Experience Points
    Lummy's Avatar Senior Member
    Karma
    3853
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    8,973
    Points
    22,631
    Level
    36
    Thanks Given
    2,973
    Thanked 3,853x in 2,814 Posts
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Which graphics program do you use?
    http://thepoliticalforums.com/threads/120290-Vodafone-denies-5G-coronavirus-connection

  6. #5
    Points: 33,758, Level: 44
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 192
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    VeteranTagger First Class25000 Experience PointsSocial
    waltky's Avatar Senior Member
    Karma
    5661
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    8,859
    Points
    33,758
    Level
    44
    Thanks Given
    2,515
    Thanked 2,139x in 1,615 Posts
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Uncle Ferd don't mind the ones...

    ... with big boobs!

  7. #6
    Points: 133,647, Level: 88
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 2,403
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranTagger First Class50000 Experience Points
    Dr. Who's Avatar Advisor
    Karma
    863196
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Gallifrey
    Posts
    54,460
    Points
    133,647
    Level
    88
    Thanks Given
    5,923
    Thanked 5,458x in 3,759 Posts
    Mentioned
    115 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Lummy View Post
    Which graphics program do you use?
    He probably doesn't have anything other than MS Paint, which comes with the operating system. We don't even know which version of Windows, but MS Paint is included in all for many years now. Saving to jpg will automatically reduce the size of the file without the need to work with the program to resize it. Plus many buy and sell forums won't take anything other than jpgs.
    Last edited by Dr. Who; 01-22-2020 at 06:40 PM.
    "The difference between what we do and what we are capable of doing would suffice to solve most of the world’s problems.”
    Mahatma Gandhi

  8. #7
    Points: 22,631, Level: 36
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 519
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassSocial1 year registered10000 Experience Points
    Lummy's Avatar Senior Member
    Karma
    3853
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    8,973
    Points
    22,631
    Level
    36
    Thanks Given
    2,973
    Thanked 3,853x in 2,814 Posts
    Mentioned
    46 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    We don't know which graphics program he uses, do we? There are several available for free or nearly free download, including obsolete Photoshops.
    http://thepoliticalforums.com/threads/120290-Vodafone-denies-5G-coronavirus-connection

  9. #8
    Points: 30,767, Level: 42
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 283
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranTagger Second Class25000 Experience Points
    Mini Me's Avatar Senior Member
    Karma
    19058
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Grass Valley, CA
    Posts
    11,151
    Points
    30,767
    Level
    42
    Thanks Given
    158
    Thanked 194x in 161 Posts
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have Windows 7, and use Firefox as my browser is all I know. I have paint.

    And what about the code gibberish problem?

  10. #9
    Points: 133,647, Level: 88
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 2,403
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranTagger First Class50000 Experience Points
    Dr. Who's Avatar Advisor
    Karma
    863196
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Gallifrey
    Posts
    54,460
    Points
    133,647
    Level
    88
    Thanks Given
    5,923
    Thanked 5,458x in 3,759 Posts
    Mentioned
    115 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Lummy View Post
    We don't know which graphics program he uses, do we? There are several available for free or nearly free download, including obsolete Photoshops.
    Implicit in his post is his unfamiliarity with file image formats, so we can safely assume that he doesn't have any familiarity with graphics programs. MS provides Paint which can convert most standard image formats to jpgs. Dr. Strangelove is visually challenged, hence the bold face posts. If his photos are in a common format, like bmp, MS Paint will work. If they are in some other less common format, then perhaps he will have to download some other graphics program or use a free service in which he can upload the photos and choose to save them as jpgs.
    "The difference between what we do and what we are capable of doing would suffice to solve most of the world’s problems.”
    Mahatma Gandhi

  11. #10
    Points: 133,647, Level: 88
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 2,403
    Overall activity: 20.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranTagger First Class50000 Experience Points
    Dr. Who's Avatar Advisor
    Karma
    863196
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Gallifrey
    Posts
    54,460
    Points
    133,647
    Level
    88
    Thanks Given
    5,923
    Thanked 5,458x in 3,759 Posts
    Mentioned
    115 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Strangelove View Post
    I have Windows 7, and use Firefox as my browser is all I know. I have paint.

    And what about the code gibberish problem?
    Usually you get code when the site where you are posting the image doesn't recognize the format from a paste. Most sites allow you to upload images - you might try that before changing the format of your images. However, try opening them in Paint and saving them as jpegs (the option to change the format is under save as). If you save them as jpgs and they still won't paste, check the site to determine whether you can upload the file.
    "The difference between what we do and what we are capable of doing would suffice to solve most of the world’s problems.”
    Mahatma Gandhi

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Single Sign On provided by vBSSO