PDA

View Full Version : D&D Next: Who's Playing?

Blackrook
12-04-2014, 07:14 PM
I've been playing D&D since 1983. We started with AD&D (now called first edition, though it wasn't), moved to 2nd edition, and then, after a long hiatus I got into 3rd edition, and 3.5.

WoC lost me when they published 4th edition. I was baffled that they took a game that worked, and tossed out everything good, and changed it to something else.

So I switched to Pathfinder, which is really a tweeking of 3.5, and some call it 3.75. And I thought that would be the end of it.

I was disgusted to learn that WoC was coming out with 5th edition. I was not ready to forgive them for 4th edition, and I thought they were just making a ploy to make more money.

But I am glad to report I was wrong. I picked up the Player's Handbook of D&D Next (5th Edition) and I fell in love.

The rules are like a throwback to the 1980's. Everything good about AD&D has been preserved, and all the crap that accumulated over the decades have been curtailed.

You can roll up a new character in an hour or so, and you don't need the help of a computer to track everything. That's what won me over. My Pathfinder games have grown so complex that I need my son's assistance just to run the game. I can no longer keep track of the NPC's and monster's many abilities, skills, feats, features, spells, etc., etc., etc. ad infinitum.

In D&D Next, NPCs are simple and straightforward, and do not have all the feats and skills of a PC.

So, is anyone else playing?

Peter1469
12-04-2014, 07:16 PM
I haven't played since like 1987. Is it all computer based now?

Blackrook
12-04-2014, 08:54 PM
No, D&D Next is tabletop.

Peter1469
12-04-2014, 08:59 PM
I have not heard. I used the World of Grey Hawk and had the map on ply wood. It was a lot of fun.

Dark Mistress
12-05-2014, 12:08 AM
I will tag Cthulhu here. He is going to join a group here soon and he's pretty darn excited.

Cthulhu
12-05-2014, 01:54 PM