PDA

View Full Version : Garlic and Parsley

Conley
12-06-2012, 10:05 PM
Parsley can be very useful. No joke! I sometimes consume a ridiculous amount of garlic (up to 8 cloves in a sitting). When cooked and eaten with parsley it kills the odor. Tricks of the trade!
Mister D

Well I do love the garlic...I don't mind the smell, kind of enjoy it actually. But you're saying to cook it with the parsley? Seems like that would lead to some really wilted parsley. Also I'm no scientist -- shocker I know -- but I thought taste and smell were closely linked. I dont want to make my garlic bland, but cooking it thoroughly does make it less pungent. That reminds me I need to get some shallots. Dang, taking this thread OT already :angry:

Captain Obvious
12-06-2012, 10:15 PM
Made garlic mashed potatoes over the weekend. Basically fresh mashed (peels on), tons o'garlic and probably twice the salt I normally add.

Fantastic shit.

Mister D
12-06-2012, 10:16 PM
When I wake up the next day even my farts reek of garlic. Imagine, if you will, feces lightly sauteed with garlic and onions. I smell like salami after one of my garlic fests. I can get the residue off my skin after a shower but those sulfur compounds are all over the inside of your body too. I use dry parsley. When I make my garlic oil I add the parsley right on top of the garlic. I only cook the garlic for a few minutes on low heat so nothing gets bitter and the garlic doesn't brown. I then add some uncooked parsley the pasta. It's a neutral herb so it's not even noticeable.

Captain Obvious
12-06-2012, 10:25 PM
I'm so glad I'm not gay.

LiarSOB
12-06-2012, 10:30 PM
I'm so glad I'm not gay.
Added benefit: saves you from gay vampires.

Conley
12-06-2012, 10:32 PM